Friday, June 13, 2008

MS SQL Server 2008 - New Features - SSMS Table Re-creation Prevention

One annoying new feature in SSMS is that when you make a change to a table using the Designer which requires the table to be re-created, such as creating an identity column, by default, you'll get the following message:

Saving changes is not permitted. The changes you have made require the following tables to be dropped and re-created. You have either made changes to a table that can't be re-created or enabled the option Prevent saving changes that require the table to be re-created.

To prevent this message from re-appearing, perform the following steps:

  1. In SSMS, click on Tools, then Options.
  2. Open up the Designers node.
  3. Click on "Table and Database Designers".
  4. Uncheck the checkbox labeled "Prevent saving changes that require table re-creation".
  5. Click on OK.


Anonymous said...

Thanx for the tip!!..

Hemisphere said...

Thank you -- this is exactly what we were looking for! :-)